Our Board


The Nevadaworks Board decides policy and sets the direction for workforce efforts throughout Northern Nevada. The Board is comprised of the Nevadaworks Council and the Nevadaworks Local Elected Officials. Each group has its own bylaws, and each group is independent of the other. When meeting together, the two groups form the Nevadaworks Board and operate under the Board’s by-laws.

Nevadaworks Council

Per the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act, Section 107 (2), the Council membership is comprised of members representing labor, apprenticeship programs, adult literacy, higher education, economic development, the Wagner-Peyser Act, and the Rehabilitation Act. Other members may represent community-based organizations, youth, local education, transportation, housing, public assistance, or philanthropic organizations. Business members must make up the majority of the total Council membership.

All Council members are appointed to terms of up to three years by the Local Elected Officials. Terms run from July 1 through June 30. Members may represent more than one category and may seek re-appointment when their current term expires.

Kevin Landry – Chair – New Horizons Learning Group

Thoran Towler – Chair Elect – Nevada Association of Employers

Alan Darney – Northern Nevada Electrical Apprenticeship

Cheri HillSage International, Inc.

Chuck Sweeney – Chuck Sweeney Associates

Dr. Dana Ryan – Western Nevada College

Dr. Jeffery AlexanderTruckee Meadows Community College

Harry Mowrey– International Painters and Allied Trades, Local Union 567

Kara HarrisFirst Independent Bank

Karlene Johnson – Nevada Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation

Ken PiersonNevada Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation

Leslie Mix – Sierra Nevada Job Corps Center

Mechelle Merrill – Bureau of Vocational Rehabilitation

Nancy McCormick – EDAWN 

Phil SunseriDesert Diamonds Realty

Scott Jolcover – American Battery Metals

Suzanne OetjenRenown Health

Theresa Auld – Haws Corporation


Nevadaworks Local Elected Officials

The Nevadaworks Local Elected Officials are either elected to a county office or represent such an official. Their terms on the Nevadaworks Board are determined by their respective county commissions.

Michael Sharkozy – Chair – Eureka County Commissioner

Dave Mendiola – Vice Chair – Humboldt County Commissioner Representative

Amanda OsborneElko County Commissioner Representative

Bus ScharmannChurchill County Commissioner



Curtis SchleppMineral County Commissioner

Jeanne Herman Washoe County Commissioner

Walt NowosadDouglas County Commissioner

JR Thomas – Lander County Commissioner

Lara Mather – Storey County Commissioner Representative

Maurice WhiteCarson City Supervisor Ward 2


Richard HoweWhite Pine County Commissioner

Shayla HudsonPershing County Commissioner

Unassigned – Lyon County Commissioner


Nevadaworks Youth Council

The goal of the Nevadaworks Youth Council is to ensure the broadest range of services available to Northern Nevada youth while minimizing duplication. Nevadaworks has contracted with premier youth agencies to coordinate this function for the best interests of the communities involved.


Nevadaworks Bylaws

Nevadaworks Board Bylaws

Nevadaworks LEO Bylaws

Nevadaworks Council Bylaws



Back to Top